Fennel and Cacao Balls

Wanted to share a simple experiment. On many occasions I have had power balls and other raw balls filled with great ingredients, however they were always dry, which didn’t make eating or digesting them a positive experience.

I’m sure there’s great recipes and ideas out there which address this dry issue and here’s what I came up with.

I simply soaked the following ingredients for a day.

  • Cashew nuts
  • Currants
  • Dates
  • Fennel seeds

Then I drained of the water and added the following.

  • Cacao nibs
  • Cacao butter
  • Cacao powder
  • Coconut oil
  • Pinch of salt
  • Honey

Method.

I heated the cacao butter and coconut oil and then added everything together into a high speed blender and blended until it reached the texture I like, which is a chunky texture. I then made balls out of the mixture and popped them in the fridge.

The next morning they were ready and on one hand success, they tasted great, however they were in need of much more coconut oil and cacao butter, which is why I haven’t added measurements as a) I didn’t measure them out in the first place and b) the texture was slightly of so the original mix of ingredients was off.

I encourage you to try playing with the soaked version balls as they were definitely much better on the digestive system.

Enjoy.

Matt

2 thoughts on “Fennel and Cacao Balls

Leave a Reply

