Fork and Dig It

Hi everyone

I wanted to share with you all, that me and my family have recently begun taking part in a food share scheme called Fork and Dig It.

A local organic farm allotted 31 shares, which requires a 6 month commitment and 3 volunteer days at the farm digging with the fork I guess? What I love about the scheme is you get locally grown produce, picked fresh on the day that costs less than regular produce from a supermarket; the food also has low-carbon foot print due to the farm being local: good for you and great for the environment.

The next part that excites me about the scheme is the 3 volunteer days working at the farm, recently I have begun growing my own food and I love it, but must admit I am a complete novice and lose most of the seedlings to natures predators; so the opportunity to go and learn more about planting seeds and growing crops is for me very exciting.

The best part though has to be that each week you get a slightly different array of vegetables and as the seasons change the produce changes with it, this encourages me to get creative in the kitchen preparing either raw salads or cooked vegan dishes with a raw twist. I will be posting some of those creations over the coming weeks.

I highly recommend box schemes, co-ops and veg share schemes for your fruits and vegetables; everybody wins and on top of that: grow your own.

 

 

IMG_0556

This weeks box included: Pak Choi, Wild Garlic, Spring Onions, White Onions, Rocket, Lettuce Leaves (variety), Carrots, Radish and Wild Flowers. (YUMMY)

 

To you all in great health

Matt Allen

The Yoga Health Coach

http://www.theyogahealthcoach.co.uk

The Yoga Health Coach Newsletter Sign Up Form

Leave a Reply

